Campaign supporters – Back Your Neighbour

Campaign supporters

/Campaign supporters
Campaign supporters2022-06-30T10:12:34+10:00

Back Your Neighbour is a coalition of local councils representing over six million Australians coming together with community services, community groups, peak bodies, policy experts and thousands of individuals to oppose cruel cuts to SRSS support for some of the most vulnerable members of our community.

We are coordinated by the Local Government Mayoral Taskforce Supporting People Seeking Asylum and have the support of local councils encompassing over five million residents across Australia.

Please contact us at to add your organisation to this list. Visit to add your name as an individual supporter.

Local councils

  • Ballarat City Council
  • Banyule City Council
  • Bass Coast Shire Council
  • Greater Bendigo City Council
  • Blue Mountains City Council
  • Brimbank City Council
  • Canterbury Bankstown City Council
  • Cardinia Shire Council
  • Casey City Council
  • Greater Dandenong City Council
  • Darebin City Council
  • Greater Geelong City Council
  • Hawkesbury City Council
  • Hobart City Council
  • Hobsons Bay City Council
  • Hume City Council
  • Inner West City Council
  • Kingston City Council
  • Launceston City Council
  • Leeton Shire Council
  • Macedon Ranges Shire Council
  • Maribyrnong City Council
  • Maroondah City Council
  • Melbourne City Council
  • Monash City Council
  • Moonee Valley City Council
  • Moreland City Council
  • Mornington Peninsula Shire Council
  • Newcastle City Council
  • Nillumbik Shire Council
  • Port Phillip City Council
  • Queenscliffe Borough Council
  • Randwick City Council
  • Wagga City Council
  • Wellington Shire Council
  • Whitehorse City Council
  • Whittlesea City Council
  • Wyndham City Council
  • Yarra City Council

Other organisations

  • Anglicare Victoria
  • Australian Neighbourhood Houses and Centres Association
  • Australian Services Union – VicTas Branch
  • Australian Services Union – Victorian Private Sector Branch
  • Ballarat Rural Australians for Refugees
  • Brotherhood of St Laurence
  • Catholic Alliance for People Seeking Asylum
  • Council to Homeless Persons
  • Darebin Legal Service
  • Domestic Violence Victoria
  • Djirra
  • Enliven
  • Fitzroy Legal Service
  • Fitzroy Learning Network
  • Jesuit Refugee Service
  • Jesuit Social Services
  • Justice and International Mission, Synod of Victoria and Tasmania, Uniting Church in Australia
  • Migrant Workers Centre
  • Mums 4 Refugees
  • National Social Security Rights Network
  • Neighbourhood Houses Victoria
  • Northsiders With Refugees
  • The Sexual Assault & Family Violence Centre
  • Victorian Afghan Associations Network
  • Victorian Council of Social Service (VCOSS)
  • Victorian Trades Hall Council
  • Women’s Health West
  • YWCA Australia

We are also working closely with the Asylum Seeker Resource Centre and Refugee Council of Australia to support their important advocacy.